The Starving Novelist

About Me

 I graduated Summa Cum Laude from Eastern Michigan University in 1999 with a degree in Sociology and a minor in Psychology.  I, unfortunately, was one of those people who had no idea what they wanted to do with their lives- I changed my major a half-dozen times up until my junior year.  I majored in Sociology mostly because it was the only thing that held my interest, and I imagined myself "making a difference" by using my degree to get a job with the goverment.  I envisioned myself doing research and developing programs to help people- kind of like a behind-the-scenes social worker.  Of course, trying to find a job after graduation was kind of like the querying process- sending out lots of resumes with very little response.  Out of desperation, I finally took a job as a well-paid receptionist for a national luxury home-builder.  However, after a year of working with a tyrant-like boss, I was ready to move on.

I was lucky enough to find a job with a small advertising, marketing, and public relations agency.  Because the company was so smal, I became a sort of jack-of-all-trades (master of none).  I did everything there from reserving media space (print and radio) to invoicing clients.  I also assisted our V.P. of public relations with various tasks, including, writing press releases.  This was my first experience with professional writing, and it was also the first time I had ever been told by a someone (other than my mother or teachers) that they liked my writing.  Though I enjoyed working there, after five years, motherhood needed to take precedence.  I decided to stay home with my, at the time, 3 1/2-year-old son and newborn daughter. 

Since then, I've become a stay-at-home mom extraordinare (maybe this word is a bit strong, but so what, I'm going with it).  I do all the "normal" house-wifey/mom things- cook, clean, help with homework, blah, blah, blah; plus I volunteer at the kids' school, coach little-league soccer, oh, and I write.  How did I get into writing?  Well, that's a whole other story (check out my blog titled "How did I get here?").

I currently live in the Metro Detroit area with my husband, my nine-year-old son, and my five-year-old daughter.  While my life is pretty simple for the most part, I'm hoping for a little bit of excitement- in the form of finding myself an honest-to-goodness literary agent and getting published!