The Starving Novelist
 
I am.  No, I don’t write about closets, I mean I can literally count on one hand how many people know about my double life (hehehe- kind of makes me sound like a secret agent!).  Why do I keep this huge part of who I am hidden?  I think my main reason is because the only people who 'get' writers are other writers.  Thanks to the media, the gen-pop have an over-simplified view of the publishing industry.  They think, “Just print it out, wrap it up, and send it to the publisher.”  Or, “If Lauren Conrad and *insert any other celebrity name here* can get a book deal, why can’t you?” Heck, even I had delusions of grandeur before starting this journey.  I can remember thinking, “I’ll send out twenty queries.  Surely, that’ll be more than enough!” Umm . . .yeah . . . (says the girl who just sent out her 100th query a couple of weeks ago <shamefully hides face in hands>).                        

Another reason to keep my writing on the down-low:  You know how annoying it is when you’re driving somewhere and your kids (if you have kids, if not, just imagine) keep asking, “Are we there yet?”  Well, the last thing I want is a continuous stream of are-you-there-yets.  This process can be depressing enough without a barrage of people asking you if you’ve made it yet.   

My final reason: some people don’t consider writing a ‘serious’ career.  Writing tends to get lumped in with other 'silly' dreams like singing, acting, painting, etc.  Again, I am guilty of thinking the same thing.  I’ve always loved to write, but the idea of majoring in something like creative writing . . . Haha!  Yeah, right!  What kind of ‘real’ job could I get with that degree?  I had to pick something practical (yeah, because the job market is abuzz with opportunities for undergraduate sociology majors *sarcasm*).  So, yet another reason to keep my ‘silly’ dream to myself.

Will I ever come out of the closet?  I made a promise to myself that I would, IF I (a) get myself an agent, or (b) get published (not that it’s very likely the latter will happen without the other).  Until then, I will continue to whine, vent, and celebrate here on my blog and with my handful of family/friends that know.  Oh, and I can’t forget my querytracker.com peeps!  Seriously, they’re awesome ;o)
3/23/2011 02:05:16 am

Hey there, Angela! It's raven1 from QT.

I figured it was time I get over to your blog and get to know you! You are so smart to do it this way. To be quiet in your journey, at least in the beginning. I can't tell you how many times I've regretted telling so many people about my goals. #1 reason, "are you there yet?" LOL. Such a great way to put it. For seven years I've been hearing that at family reunions and the middle school where I worked. Bleck.

As to our gen-poppers, I'm trying to put a dent in their stainless steel pipedreams. Heh. I have a friend who does an after school program for kiddos whose parents work late. She had me come by and do an "author" talk one day.

I dedicated the first ten minutes to reading from a cute book, and the next ten giving them some tips on writing. But the last ten I spent telling them the REAL process behind getting a book published. The hours of lonely writing, crit groups, agent search, rejections, the revisions, the publisher search, rejections, and on and on.

I even had clip art and a flow chart. HA! So, those are some kids who are gonna know the truth, and will respect authors in a way few others do.

I really enjoyed your post!I'll drop by again soon. ;-) Oh, and if you ever get a chance, stop by my blog. I'm doing a series on successful QT authors starting this Friday. TTYS! And good luck w/those queries, girl!

Reply
Angela
3/23/2011 02:56:51 am

Hi Raven1/Anita ;o)

Thank you for stopping by! I REALLY like your blog. I've actually stopped by a few times in the past ;o) Oh, and I love, love, love your layout! Looking forward to reading about the successful QT authors :o) TTYL, and good luck with the your subs!

Reply
3/23/2011 03:33:22 am

I know EXACTLY what you mean. And, even now that I have an agent, I still find it exasperating and I often find myself answering the "So what do you do?" question with, "I'm home with my kids," because it's just so much easier. I've discovered most non-writerly types have no idea what "having an agent" even means and assume my book is forthcoming. I have a friend who, in trying to be supportive, says things like "We're going to get you into book clubs! We'll get your book in the right groups!" and I can only grin stiffly and say, "Well, before anything, the book has to be sold. There is only my novel--no book yet."

It's frustrating and lonely and I guess why we end up turning back to our writing, no? :-)

Reply
Angela
3/23/2011 04:22:46 am

Thank you for stopping by, Jenny! Yes, it is VERY frustrating and loney sometimes, because whenever something good DOES happen, I want to tell the world, but I can't. I am so thankful for my blog and for my cyber supporters ;o)

Again, thanks for stopping by!

Reply
3/24/2011 12:53:06 pm

Aha, write2live, I found ye! So pleased with my detective skills. Oh, it actually just took clicking on our profile on QT, but still...can't we think I am a master detective? I wanted to comment because I almost never talk about my travails as a writer in my own blog, but I think I should open up now and again and talk about my fears and hopes as a writer. I'd rather hide behind my silly personas. Thanks for this post!

Reply
Angela
3/24/2011 11:35:26 pm

Hi there, Jenny! Thanks for stopping by :o) You're so funny- I visit so many different blogs, that I always find myself thinking, "Don't I know you from somewhere?" lol. It's like there's this group of us that keep 'running' into each other ;o)

I'm so glad you could relate to my post. Yes, my blog is my only outlet, so a lot of times it can get a bit whiny and maybe a smidge too self-deprecating- lol. Oh, and things can also get down-right bizarre on here(I really should delete that post where I introduced my multiple personalities-hehe!) Nonetheless, my writing is always honest ;o)

Reply

Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.